fayarun

I'm Faya and I run.

Bragging rights

Leave a comment

Or what I like to call my race finisher tees.

I do like the finisher medals I’ve gotten from the races I’ve taken part in. In fact, I have a nice vase where they all sit. I find them a nice reminder of what I’ve accomplished over the years, from not being able to run for 20 seconds, to completing three marathons, a couple of Tough Mudders and more. And while I like getting them and showing them off occasionally, they are basically just a nice reminder for me.

Finisher tees on the other hand, are my bragging rights. I love a good tee at the end of a race. I know, I know, not every race has a tee. Which is fine, I’ve raced a couple of times where the only thing I received at the end of the race was a cup of water, and that’s fine to. I’m just saying I love a good finishers tee. And do you know why? It’s in the title, folks. Bragging rights. It’s a big badge (or rather a tee) that yells “Yes, I ran THAT.”

Not everyone wants or needs to brag about what they’ve run. But as someone who doesn’t “look” like she runs long distance (I’ve genuinely had someone say that about me*), having the tee to prove it is great fun. Plus for some runs, it’s nice to see that others have run it to. “Oh you ran Brighton last year? I ran it to! Isn’t it a great route?”

IMG_5797

My absolute fave Bragging rights tee though, is my Tough Mudder one. The 2014 tee was amazing and I still wear it today, usually on days when I need to remember that I can do the things I’ve set out to do.

Do you have any favourite finisher tees? Share them in the comments, I’d love to see them!

 

 

* “I thought marathon runners were all tall and thin.” – said about me while training for my second marathon. Same jerk guy said some other crappy stuff to my sis at the same time. Jerk guy was a jerk. But seriously, runners come in all shapes and sizes, don’t be that person.

Leave a comment